Flatland Cavalry Releases new single, “Mountain Song”

“Mountain Song” is the latest release from the band following their acclaimed 2021 album, Welcome to Countryland,

Acclaimed band Flatland Cavalry released a new single today titled, “Mountain Song”.

“Mountain Song” is a collaboration between Cleto Cordero and Stephen Constancio written as the duo was traveling from from Red River, NM to the Pacific Northwest. During the first leg of the tour they found themselves in a quaint and quiet mountain town where they wrote the song together.

“Born and raised in West Texas, all I’ve ever known is dry, dusty flatland,” Cordero said in a statement. “Looking out the cabin window at the moonlit mountain in the distance the first lines came to mind and we just ‘chased the rabbit down the hole’ as they say.”

“It is one of my favorite recordings we have ever made because it is so honest and authentic; quite frankly when listening to it a part of me can’t believe we captured what we did in such little time and with such little preparation.”

Cleto Cordero

“Mountain Song” is the latest release from the band following their acclaimed 2021 album, Welcome to Countryland, as well as this past spring’s Far Out West Sessions, which features stripped-down versions of seven songs from the record.

“It is one of my favorite recordings we have ever made because it is so honest and authentic; quite frankly when listening to it a part of me can’t believe we captured what we did in such little time and with such little preparation,” Cordero said.

photo credit: Fernando Garcia

Produced by Jake Gear and recorded at Nashville’s Sound Emporium Studios, Welcome to Countryland has continued to receive widespread acclaim since the release, with The Wall Street Journal praising, “a clear musical point of view, original melodies, mature confidence in portraying romantic matters, and increasingly fresh, distinctive lyrics…a straightforward, upbeat electrified country-rock band.” Additionally, Rolling Stone declares, “Flatland Cavalry are promising to make days a little brighter wherever they go” and American Songwriter proclaims, “a dynamic representation of country music.” 

Watch “Dancin’ Around A Fire” by Flatland Cavalry

Since forming in 2012, Flatland Cavalry has released three studio albums: Welcome to Countryland (2021), Homeland Insecurity (2019) and their 2016 debut, Humble Folks, which reached #2 on iTunes’ Country Albums chart, #17 on Billboard’s Americana/Folk Albums chart and #28 on Billboard’s Top Country Albums chart.

Additionally, of Homeland InsecurityRolling Stone declared, “Flatland Cavalry mix Red Dirt roots-rock with fiddle-driven twang. The blend is particularly intoxicating,” while the Dallas Observer praised, “a breath of fresh air for a Texas country music scene hungry for young blood.” Flatland Cavalry has continued to tour relentlessly throughout their career, building a passionate grassroots fanbase as they went. In addition to numerous sold-out headline shows, the band has joined artists such as Luke Combs, Turnpike Troubadours, Randy Rogers Band, Midland and Parker McCollum on the road.

Known for their electric live shows, the band will perform throughout this year with upcoming stops at Baton Rouge’s Texas Club, Memphis’s Graceland Live, Stephenville’s Twisted J Live, Tucson’s Tucson Arena, Grizzly Rose in Denver, Tulsa’s Cain’s Ballroom among many others. The band will also perform at the Texas State Fair, Troubadour Festival, and Born and Raised Festival this fall. See below for complete itinerary.


  • August 26—Columbia, MO—The Blue Note
  • August 27—Lincoln, NE—The Bourbon Theatre
  • September 1—Clinton, AR—National Championship Wagon Races
  • September 2—Baton Rouge, LA—Texas Club
  • September 3—Belton, TX—Central Texas State Fair
  • September 8— Memphis, TN—Graceland Live
  • September 9— Stillwater, OK—Outside City Limits
  • September 10—Tyler, TX—Troubadour Festival
  • September 15—Stephenville, TX—Twisted J Live
  • September 16—Brenham, TX—Washington Country Fairgrounds
  • September 17—Pryor, OK—Born and Raised Music Festival
  • September 21—Albuquerque, NM—Lobo Theater
  • September 22—Red River, NM—Bitter Creek Ranch
  • September 23—Tucson, AZ—Tucson Arena
  • September 29—Lawrence, KS—The Granada
  • September 30—Denver, CO—Grizzly Rose
  • October 1—Hays, KS—Fox Theatre
  • October 7—Fredericksburg, TX—The Backyard Amphitheater
  • October 8—Cuero, TX—Cuero Turkeyest
  • October 14—Nacogdoches, TX—Banita Creek Hall
  • October 20—Starkville, MS—Rick’s Café
  • October 21—Birmingham, AL—Iron City
  • October 22—Hattiesburg, MS—Brewsky’s
  • October 28—Knoxville, TN—The Mill & Mine
  • October 29—Miramar Beach, FL—Moon Crush Harvest Moon 2022
  • November 3—Oxford, MS—The Lyric Oxford
  • November 6—Simpsonville, SC—CCNB Amphitheatre at Heritage Park
  • November 11—Round Rock, TX—Round Rock
  • November 12—San Antonio, TX—Cowboys Dancehall
  • December 9—Tulsa, OK—Cain’s Ballroom
  • December 10—Fayetteville, AR—JJ’s Live

Yonlander Radio

Don't miss

Washington State Parks Expand Same-Day Reservation and Flexible Dates

On Thursday, the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission...

Goodbye, Sturgill Simpson. Hello, Johnny Blue Skies.

Sturgill Simpson, the Kentucky singer-songwriter who gained popularity nearly...

New Programs Aim to Reduce Wildfire Risk In Wildland-Urban Interface Areas

Recently, Deputy Secretary of Agriculture Xochitl Torres Small announced...

Outdated Federal Safety Regulations Put Rural Americans At Risk During Tornado Outbreaks

Extreme weather battered parts of the Midwest over the...
20th century rural sociologist, Carl Frederick Kraenzel, coined the term ‘Yonland’ to describe the in-between places left indistinct and vague on a map. Yonlander is a rural publication designed for those outside the city limit sign pursuing a simple, independent lifestyle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here